‘The Scene’ Project

 

UAL Awarding Body

Level 3 Diploma

 

Unit 5,6,7

Project Proposal Friendship

 

Name                                              Rhiana Bonterre
Pathway  
Project Title  Friendship
Section 1: Rationale (Approx. 100 words)
This project revolves around the idea of superficial relationships. The main character is reflecting on her friendship groups and how meaningful they really are, as despite the amount of friends she has, there doesn’t seem to be much of a connection. It leaves her feeling lonely, and as if something is missing. This is expressed through a narration with the character’s voice. Her loneliness and frustration is also expressed through the use of light and colour, and the video ends with her realising that she needs to stop living for the approval or acceptance of others, and stop being afraid to tell people what she really thinks of them. She needs to live for herself.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Section 2: Project Concept (approx. 200 words)
 

To develop my idea of a superficial relationship, I will do research on the different things people feel when the relationships they have with people have no substance. A short film that inspired me in a big involved a girl trying to study but kept receiving on her phone. Eventually the constant vibrating of the phone leads to the entire table vibrating, and then the entire room. It depicts her frustration and the way her environment reflected her emotions is something I intend to use.

 

The main elements within this project include the subject of superficial friendships and the different lighting I use to depict the characters emotion.

 

My project is aimed at an audience of preteens and teenagers, as research shows that these type of relationships and the inability to create deeper connections with people exists mostly in people of this group. As a result, they can relate to and identify with the contents of my project.

 

My role in this project will involve lighting engineer, sound engineer, cinematographer, actor, director and editor. However, I will have help within all of these sectors.

 

For this project, I must have an appropriate amount of knowledge about lighting techniques, editing techniques for both video and sound, and camera angles. Especially as I focus on lighting a lot, knowing about which lights to use, the three point lighting technique and how to work the equipment is essential.

 

 

Section 3: Evaluation (approx. 50 words)
I will evaluate my work by critiquing all of the elements I included. I will describe the things that went well and come out as I intended, as well as the things that didn’t go to plan and how I can learn from it.
Proposed Research Sources and Bibliography (Harvard Format)
 PairedLife. 2017. Six Reasons Your Friendships Are Superficial | PairedLife. [ONLINE] Available at: https://pairedlife.com/friendship/Six-Reasons-Your-Friendships-Dont-Are-Superficial. [Accessed 10 March 2017].

The Independent. 2017. The loneliness epidemic: We’re more connected than ever – but are we feeling more alone? | The Independent. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/features/the-loneliness-epidemic-more-connected-than-ever-but-feeling-more-alone-10143206.html. [Accessed 10 March 2017].

Quora (2017) I’m sick of shallow friendships for obvious reasons and also deeper friendships for they can be too emotionally draining. what would you do? Available at: https://www.quora.com/Im-sick-of-shallow-friendships-for-obvious-reasons-and-also-deeper-friendships-for-they-can-be-too-emotionally-draining-what-would-you-do (Accessed 10/03/17)

YouTube. 2017. VLOG| Superficial Friendships|#KinyiKinows| Kinyibxb – YouTube.  Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oomNEiEas7E. [Accessed 10 March 2017].

Freesound.org. 2017. Freesound.org – “super8-zoom-in-and-out.aif” by Eelke. Available at: https://freesound.org/people/Eelke/sounds/105213/. [Accessed 10 March 2017].

YouTube. 2017. Simon Sinek on Millennials in the Workplace – YouTube. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hER0Qp6QJNU. [Accessed 10 March 2017].

 

Project Action Plan and Timetable
Week

Beginning

Day Activity / What you are intending to do –

including independent study

Resources / What you will need to do it –

including access to workshops

09/03/17 Thursday Filming at my house Camera, tripod, microphone, lights
10/03/17 Friday Filming at my house Camera, tripod, microphone, lights
       
13.03.17 Mon Filming in Whitsable, and Editing at College  
14.03.17 Tues Editing at College  
  Wed Editing at College  
       

 

 

One Minute Film Analysis’

Special Date analysis

 

The narrative of this video involves a boy who gets really dressed up for a date, which turns out to only be private messaging between him and a girl online. This short film is quite simple, yet really effective in portraying the message. The bulk of the filming shows the character’s reflection in the mirror as he gets ready, and the use of short clips of him getting himself ready all put together gives the effect of him getting ready from start to finish without showing every detail. It is a good technique to show something that is meant to take place over a longer period of time, in just a few seconds. Cutaways in the editing include showing the door handle as he opens the door, aswell as showing the computer and the message that he sends to his ‘date’.

The lighting in this film is mostly artificial, except for before he enters the room for his date, and he is outside. They are quite natural as well, and are just used to set the scene of someone getting ready in their bathroom. It is all quite bright up until te last scene, where the room that the character sits in to type on his computer is completely dark. This could be to direct the audiences attention to him and the computer- and hence, his date.

Sound within this film includes quite a bit of foley and sound effects, as well as an upbeat music track. The music definitely adds a positive, happy and quite comical mood to the entire production. It helps the audience determine what the film will entail as soon as they begin to watch it. The foley includes open and closing of the drawers, running water of the shower and tap, brushing of teeth, hairdryer, rustling of clothes as he dresses, opening of door and the sound of the chair moving as he edges closer to the computer. As the shots in this film are quite simple, the sound effects that go together with them definitely makes the production even better, and keeps the audience interested in what is occurring on the scree, even though he is just getting dressed for the majority of the film. It is a great example of the importance of audio and how much it can benefit a film if it is done well.

 

 

 

Misplaced analysis

This short film involves a young man who is about to leave his house, when he realises that he does not have his phone on him. He then searches throughout his apartment for his phone, and only finds it when it starts ringing. When he finally finds it and answers his phone, the person on the other end mysteriously says ‘your welcome’, before abruptly hanging up. The shots in Misplaced are quite quick and snappy in comparison to the previous video I analysed, yet they flow together smoothly, complimenting the narrative.

It includes a significant amount more cutaways, and it is very effective in including the audience in the search for his phone and implying that the character is worriedly looking for something. The lighting is quite dark and somber, and there are no bright colours throughout the video. It appropriately matches the mysterious and almost obscure mood- that is emphasized by the music and narrative.

I’m Beautiful Analysis

 

This short film influenced me quite a lot for my final project, although I did not intend for it to, until the editing process. I liked the idea of using a voiceover to narrate the story within the film, and I also loved the way the film begins quite calm and subtle, but as it progresses and the truth of what the character really feels comes out- the passion within the clips as well as the voice of the narrator builds up.

The narration of this film follows a girl who is perceived as beautiful. As the video progresses she explains the pain, sacrifices and affliction it took for her to be that way. Unlike the previous videos I have analysed, this film does not have a typical story type structure. It is instead more of a montage of clips, that flow in accordance with what the narrator talks about. This is similar to the type of film that I intend to make. The clips involve a lot of cutaways and camera tilts, which often show the characters face before panning down to what she is focusing on, or vice versa. The lighting is mostly artificial as it seems to be shot in doors, and seems to be a product of the environment in which it was filmed- or imitating it.

Foley and sound effects are also included- and I think it adds a very nice touch the production as a whole. Sound effects were cleverly placed only at specific times, such as when the character is throwing up into a toilet. At other times when it was unnecessary for the narrative, it was left out- for example the clicking of cameras during the photo shoot scene. Sounds were used minimally as to not overbear the narration. The main sound used, besides the narration was the music- which built up it intensity at the same time that the plot did subsequently adding to the emotional mood.

Time Analysis

 

This film involves a young woman, who is waiting at a restaurant for her partner to show up. Although very late, he eventually does, but is distracted by his phone and doesn’t pay much attention to his partner who sits across from him. As the woman later drives home in tears and clearly distracted from the road, she ends up in a car crash. A note that she wrote to her husband remains as it burns in the fire from the crash that reads, ‘Lost time is never found’.

Again, the shots used quite a number of cutaways which helped tell the story effectively. It can be seen when the camera switches from the mans face down to the watch on his wrist, as he watches it nervously. Also, there is a cutaway from the woman face to her hand, where she twists the ring on her index finger. It implies to the audience that she is married or engaged. However, I did not think that the shots had as good a flow as the shots from the previous short films I watched.The narrative was quite gappy, and could have included a couple more shots between the scenes the make it flow more smoothly.

A major motif within this film was time, as a clock is shown repeatedly throughout the video together with the sound of it ticking. Also, the male character looks at his watch repeatedly, further reminding the audience of this theme and implying that ‘time is lost’ because of him. It helps to tell the story as well as there is no narration, and does this effectively.

 

Oxymoron Analysis

This video in particular gave me a lot of inspiration for my own project. The idea of the phone vibrating more and more from receiving messages came after having watched this.

This film involves a teenager, who appears to be sitting down at a table studying, her phone inches away from her. Her phone start to vibrate from receiving messages, but she tries to ignore it and get on with her work. However, as it continues to vibrate from more and more messages that come through, the entire room and table shakes with it, as the girl stares distantly. The second half of the film is more abstract, showing the girl in a completely different location. Looking bedraggled, she is crouched on the floor desperately reaching towards her mobile phone that is inches away from her.

I really liked the way this video was filmed, especially the first half, and thought the second half was quite original. The quick, snappy shots an cutaways to the phone vibrating really intensified the mood of the video. The second half involved a lot of cutaways to a doll, that was set on fire and burning. This could symbolise the girl herself when she is without her phone, and how much it kills her not to have it. The lighting for the entire film was quite minimal, and matched the somber and even dark mood.

Narration

I feel as if there’s a hole at the pit of my stomach, a strange, lonely emptiness inside me that stubbornly lingers there no matter how hard I try to fill it. And God knows I try. I’m with friends constantly and we talk and text incessantly – yet, the hole deepens. I’m grateful for my friends though. I’m not completely alone.People like us, we look good together- we’re a team- a squad. But is that enough? Is the way people see me really the only thing that matters. Because we only ever seem to be talking about other peoples lives, instead of our own. Gossip dominates every conversation, text message voice note and phone call and although I’ve got a head full of thoughts and struggles of my own, I’m left wondering whether my “friends” even care to know. How I feel, what i stand for, who I am- does that interest them at all? Everyday, this growing void of loneliness consumes me, edging me to find someone that genuinely cares about my well-being. I am more than my social status, and to sacrifice it has to be worth it. Because this shallowness that my life as become will soon make me drown.

Research for the Narrative of my project

As mentioned in my project proposal, my idea was centered around the idea of superficial friendships. I wanted it to revolve around the notion where a lot relationships in my generation are quite shallow, and lacking substance. Many people claim to have loads of ‘friends’, and through looking at their social media pages and  messages it can appear so. However, there is often something missing in these relationships; conversations generally revolve around gossip and where the next best party is rather than forming connections that are beyond this. My project is centered around someone who recognizes the nature of her friendships, and craves something deeper than what it is. In an interview with Simon Sinek, he talks about millennials and the fact that many of them self admittedly have superficial friendships where they may have a great time with their friends, but can’t trust them completely, and don’t know how (or are too scared to) to go beyond the shallow nature of their relationships.

To expand my idea and get a better understanding of the nature of superficial friendships, I researched the reasons behind it. What exactly is it that is missing from a friendship of this sort and why it can be so difficult to take a friendship to the next level. Also as I intend to include a voiceover of what the subject thinks about her friendships, I wanted it to be as accurate as possible.

 

Pre Production Work

reece 1reece2healthamnds

 

 

How Friendships Can Be Shallow and Superficial

  1. Fear of Commitment– in a self centred world, many people are scared to commit their time and themselves to someone else.
  2. Lack of time– friendships of this sort often come from school or work. They may socialize when they are with them at school or work, but do not make time to spend with them outside of this time.
  3. We don’t want to get involved – getting involved can involve obligations and responsibilities that some people don’t want to have.
  4. Obsessing over what people think of you. People may be more concerned about pleasing their friends rather than just being themselves.”I was passive, because I wanted to please others more than I wanted to honor myself. “
  5. It looks good– dress up together, go out together, take pictures together and to everyone looking in, they look perfect. On social media, they are seen as friendship goals, but other than that- there is no real connection between them.
Image result for superficial friendships
someecards.com (2016)

 

Image result for superficial friendships
yunobearx  (2016)

 

 

In an interview about millenials, Simon Sinek said “Too many kids don’t know how to form deep, meaningful relationships…They will admit that many of their friendships are superficial, they will admit that they don’t count on their friends, they don’t rely on their friends. They’ll have fun with their friends, but they also know that their friends will cancel on them if something better comes along.”

The full video can be seen below:

 

Research and Inspiration for Lighting

I wanted the lighting for my project to be quite harsh and dramatic, with a lot of shadow. This is to symbolize the loneliness that the character feels despite the friendships she has. I therefore looked up images of partially lit faces, with a lot of shadow. I also was not sure as to whether I wanted to include coloured light, so I looked up pictures of this too to get a feel of it.

Capture
As I was thinking of including coloured light in my project, I was trying to find the perfect one that represented the mood of my project.
1
(Moose Peterson 2007)

 

istock photo (2017)

 

When I saw this image, I really liked the idea of the character in my project looking at a reflection of herself in a mirror. Together with minimal lighting and a lot of shadow, I thought this would be a nice effect. It can imply that the character is reflecting on herself, and as an extension how much of herself she really shares with her friends.

 

Final Project

 

Evaluation:

I was overall quite satisfied with how my production turned out, although it is not how I originally intended it to be. While editing, I found myself scrapping together as much footage as I could and really thought I needed more. Because most of the shots shown as quite quick, as I did not use the entirety of any a clip that I filmed, it seemed like it was enough during filming.Nevertheless, I used what I had and managed to finish the project decently.

One challenge that stood out for me from creating this project was the inability to have full control over the filming, as I was acting as well. I thought I would be able to manage acting, directing, filming and lighting at the same time- surprisingly it was extremely difficult, especially as my crew who actually held the lights, and filmed with the camera had little to no experience in what the were doing. Unfortunately I had no way around this. It lead to me having to retake a scene a number of times, or even having to use footage I was unhappy with. Although it does seem an impossible task I was trying to make work as I look at it now, I had a particular vision of the acting that i wanted to portray myself. Also, the video included a number of photos that suited the theme of the film that were already existing, and it seemed more practical and time saving to use them, rather than take new photographs. I have definitely learnt that it is nearly impossible to do everything in a production on your own, even if you are directing people, they need to have an idea of how to do their job effectively. I will never act in my own film instead of directing it. I have realised that having a better control of the cinematography is the most important thing for me.

 

 

References

PairedLife. 2017. Six Reasons Your Friendships Are Superficial | PairedLife. [ONLINE] Available at: https://pairedlife.com/friendship/Six-Reasons-Your-Friendships-Dont-Are-Superficial. [Accessed 10 March 2017].

The Independent. 2017. The loneliness epidemic: We’re more connected than ever – but are we feeling more alone? | The Independent. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/health-and-families/features/the-loneliness-epidemic-more-connected-than-ever-but-feeling-more-alone-10143206.html. [Accessed 10 March 2017].

Quora (2017) I’m sick of shallow friendships for obvious reasons and also deeper friendships for they can be too emotionally draining. what would you do? Available at: https://www.quora.com/Im-sick-of-shallow-friendships-for-obvious-reasons-and-also-deeper-friendships-for-they-can-be-too-emotionally-draining-what-would-you-do (Accessed 10/03/17)

YouTube. 2017. VLOG| Superficial Friendships|#KinyiKinows| Kinyibxb – YouTube.  Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oomNEiEas7E. [Accessed 10 March 2017].

Freesound.org. 2017. Freesound.org – “super8-zoom-in-and-out.aif” by Eelke. Available at: https://freesound.org/people/Eelke/sounds/105213/. [Accessed 10 March 2017].

YouTube. 2017. Simon Sinek on Millennials in the Workplace – YouTube. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hER0Qp6QJNU. [Accessed 10 March 2017].

