Image result for avid media composer

 

In this week’s session, we learnt all about the basics to using the editing program ‘Avid Media Composer’.

Before actually opening the program and start editing, it is important to create folders in a specific place on the computer you are working on, or on an external drive. In these folders, you can put all of the video and audio files you are going to be working with, so that when editing, you will know exactly where to find the files you want. When creating my project, I saved my files in the ‘New Volume’ space on the computer I was working with. Here I created a file with my name, and inside it contained the name of my project, a file for audio clips, and a file for video clips.

1.

folder

 

2.

folder2

3.

folder3

 

4.

folder4

Next, we had to open the Avid Application and create a new project.

be4-1

When opening Avid, this is the first main pop up that comes up. It is very important to make sure it is saved in the correct place – for some of the projects I created, I made the mistake of saving it in someone else’s folder (E:/Dominic Collett/). I should have instead set it to be saved in my own folder. Then, I chose whether I wanted the project to be private (and not be seen by anyone besides myself), shared, (shared with other users of the computer) and external (saved to an external disk, or the hardrive of the computer). I chose the latter.

Next, the window shown below came up.

be4-2

Here, I named my project, and made sure the Format and aspect ratio was set correctly. The best format to set it in would be 25 PAL. This means that the project will be set at 25 frames per second, which is the most suitable viewing setting. PAL for the majority of  frames per sec PAL EUROPE ntsc OTHER NORTH AMERICA

 

 

To upload video and audio files, we first had to create ‘bins’ which are folders within the program that hold all of the media we intend to import. For the project we created in this particular session, we created bins named audio, video and edit. We then went to ‘import’, and uploaded audio and video clips into these specific bins.

Once doing this, we were able to add these clips to the timeline, and experiment with the editing techniques that were available. By cutting up the clips, putting different pieces at different points on the timeline and adding distortions and effects, I was able to get a feel for this editing program and test exactly what I could and could not do to create what I had in mind, and how I would achieve it.

When creating a project, the first thing to do after naming it and adjusting it to the correct settings would be to create bins. These bins hold all of the video or audio files that you want to add to your project. In the below picture, I created one which was called audio and the other video. I would then import files from the computer or an external source to add to these bins accordingly.

be4-1

be4-2

new

Create folders on computer to put video and audio files

 

When creating a project, the first thing to do after naming it and adjusting it to the correct settings would be to create bins. These bins hold all of the video or audio files that you want to add to your project. In the above pictures, I created one which was called audio and the other video. I would then import files from the computer or an external source to add to these bins accordingly. In the video bin, I added the video file FlyByFoam.mov. I then double clicked on it to display it in the viewer.

2

Once I could view it in the viewer, I added in and out points on the video to select clip of it that I wanted in my project. To do this, I pressed the ‘I’ on the keyboard for my In point and ‘O’ for my out point.

 

3

Next, I pressed ‘V’ to insert this section of the video clip onto my timeline, as seen in the picture above.

4

 

5

Next, after importing an audio clip into my ‘audio’ bin, I double clicked on this to display it in my viewer. Just like the audio clip, I inserted in and out points on the audio to select the part I wanted in my project. I then made sure the audio options were selected on my timeline and pressed ‘v’ for the audio clip to appear on the timeline with the video clip. To make the audio and video the same length, I placed the header to where I wanted the audio to end, clicked on the add edit icon, and the audio clip was cut into two. The part that I didn’t want, I deleted.

 

6

The last thing to do was to export the project. To do this, I went into file, then export. After that, this window that is shown above popped up, and I chose the place where I wanted to save the project, renamed it, and clicked save.

For the following week, we were required to explore Avid a little more, as we synced the sound to a video, by the use of a clapperboard when filming and recording the sound.

